can you hit the ping pong ball before it bounces

Can you Hit The Ping Pong Ball Before it Bounces and Get Points

Posted on

Does it ever come to your mind can you hit the ping pong ball before it bounces? If it happens would I get point?

I believe it comes, who doesn’t wish to get a point easily? Though it is seen to be beyond the rules.

Ping Pong Rules

Let’s see what rules ITTF ruled for the thing we are discussing.

The rule is clear that if the ball hasn’t crossed the end line and hasn’t bounced on your side but you hit, your opponent will get the point.

On the other hand, if the ball crossed the end line and hasn’t bounced on your side but you hit, the point is yours.

How can you Hit the Ping Pong Ball before it Bounces and Get Point

As we saw above, there is no way to get point hitting the ball before it bounces, if you play compelling the rules.

But there is a trick, how you can get the point hitting the ball before it bounces.

So, what you can do is, if you see the ball didn’t bounce in your side before crossing the end line, just hit the ball as much speed as you can targeting your opponent’s bat as he can’t move his bat without touching the ball.

If the ball touches the bat and slips out, there is a chance you can get the point.

FQA

According to this section, we tried to figure out some answers to the questions that come to mind when you start finding, can I hit the ping pong ball before it bounces.

  • If a ping pong ball hits you whose point is it?

It is your point, But there is a thing,

If the ball crossed the end line without bouncing on your side and hits you, the point will be yours.

But if the ball doesn’t cross the end line without bouncing on your side and hits you, the point will be your opponent’s.

  • Can you hit the net in ping pong?

Yes, you can.

During the serve, if your ball hits the net, but passes over your side and travels the half of your opponent’s side, the game will be continued.

The rule will be applicable during the rally also.

  • Can you hit the ping pong table?

Yes, you can, but the hand with which you are holding the bat.

On the other hand, if you touch the table you are not holding the bat with, you will lose the point.

  • What if the ball hits your finger in ping pong?

If the ball hits your finger of your racket’s hand, the game will be continued.

But if the ball hits your other hand’s finger which you are not holding the ball with, your opponent will get the point.

  • Can you hit the ball with your hand in ping pong?

Yes, you can hit the ball with your hand if the hand holds the bat.

The rule is, you can hit the ball with any part of your hand under the wrist with which you are holding the bat.

  • Can you hit table tennis serve before it bounces?

No, you can’t. If you hit the serve before it bounces it will be your opponent’s point.

  • Does the ball always have to bounce in ping pong?

Yes. If the doesn’t bounce on your opponent’s side you will lose the point to your opponent.

  • Is it the point in ping pong if the ball hits you?

Yes, it is. if the ball hits you before passing your side’s end line, your opponent will get the point.

Final Verdict

No one would suggest you play illegally who wants to see you on the long way if he is a well-wisher.

So, I would also suggest you play compelling the ITTF’s rules and don’t try to get point of hitting the ball before it bounces in ping pong.